Juchnowiec Kościelny

Juchnowiec Kościelny

The municipality of Juchnowiec Kościelny is a suburban municipality neighbouring Białystok to the north. Its southern border is the Narew River. In an area of 172 square kilometres, there are 46 villages and towns. It is one of the most extensive municipalities in Podlaskie Voivodeship.

The Juchnowiec Kościelny commune is a very dynamically developing municipality. It is home to many nationally and internationally renowned companies. For several years there has also been an increase in the number of people wishing to settle in the Juchnowiec Kościelny commune. New residents are attracted by areas of outstanding natural beauty, a good road network, continuous investment in improving infrastructure, local zoning plans adopted for a large area, and the goodwill of the local government, which meets the expectations of residents and is committed to raising the attractiveness of the municipality.

The diversity of the terrain, the wealth of nature and interesting cycling routes are conducive to active tourism and recreation.


Among the most valuable monuments in the municipality is the Holy Trinity brick church in Juchnowiec Kościelny, built in 1764 on the site of an old wooden church. The church cherishes the miraculous image of the Mother of God of Juchnowiec, dating back to the 16th/17th century, with clear characteristics of a Byzantine icon, painted in oil on board. In the village of Kożany, located in the south of the municipality, there is the Church of the Elevation of the Holy Cross. The first church was founded in 1621 by the owner of Kozany, Maciej Lewicki. The present church was built in 1886. Particularly venerated in the church is the icon of the Holy Mother of God of Kozan, written on a canvas pasted on an alder board, dating from the first church.

In the valley of the Narew River, there is the picturesque village of Wojszki, distinguished by its characteristic charming wooden buildings with unusually rich decorations. In the village of Rumejki Kolonia, formerly Juchnowszczyzna, there is a 17th-century larch manor house, beautifully situated among ponds. Traces of an interesting park layout can still be found here. In the village of Horodniany, there is a restored nobleman's manor house. Its history dates back to the 15th century when the Horodelscy family were the owners of the surrounding area.

The ruins of a classicist palace in Lewicki from the early 19th century belonging to the Nowicki family are also worth seeing. Apart from the Podlasie Versailles of Jan Klemens Branicki in Bialystok, it had no equal in the area.

The statistical portrait of the municipality

Visit the website of the city


Office of the Board of the Association of Bialystok Functional Area

ul. Mickiewicza 74 lok. 6 
15-427 Białystok
tel./fax  85 661 15 38